The Sound Schoolhouse is one of two locations operated by the Mount Desert Island Historical Society. The Sound Schoolhouse was opened in 1892 for the children of the quarrying and farming village of Somes Sound. The building was used as a school for 34 years, closing in 1926. Until it was restored by the Mount Desert Island Historical Society in 1999, it had served as a community center and thus a place for dances, suppers, and tag sales. When the historical society restored the building, a curatorial wing was added. The Ralph W. Stanley Library and the society’s collection of historic objects, preserved in a temperature and humidity-controlled room, are located in this wing.
A visit to the Sound Schoolhouse offers people of all ages an opportunity to step back in time and think about how education in a one-room school would differ from today’s schooling.
The Sound Schoolhouse serves as a center for scholarship and educational programs, and our archives are kept in a fire-protected and climate-controlled vault.